Deadline: September 30, 2018

In the workshop with Grant Burger, 2016 Alden Artisan Advancement recipient, and Greg Brown, Furniture Master, mentor and founder of the Alden Artisan Advancement.

In the workshop with Grant Burger, 2016 Alden Artisan Advancement recipient, and Greg Brown, Furniture Master, mentor and founder of the Alden Artisan Advancement.

The New Hampshire Furniture Masters Association has established a reputation for creating works to the highest standards of design and craftsmanship. As a group they offer each other inspiration and critical feedback, and collectively address the challenge of marketing such distinctive and artistic work. By combining resources, the Furniture Masters are able to plan and host a variety of high profile annual exhibits throughout New England. Additionally, the group publishes a professionally designed annual design book of newly created work, they maintain a website to showcase and sell their work, and distribute online and printed promotional materials to an extensive and expanding list of enthusiastic supporters and patrons. 

While the members benefit from belonging to this dynamic group, the Association is also passionate about giving back to the furniture community. Members provide intern and apprentice opportunities to aspiring makers, and are involved in ongoing outreach in the form of lectures, demonstrations and published articles about the craft of furniture making. Also, for the past 15 years, several Furniture Masters have been an integral part of a prison outreach program where they offer instruction and mentorship to inmates at correctional facilities in New Hampshire and Maine.

NHFMA is now proud to offer the Alden Artisan Advancement to help support an emerging artist in furthering their career as a professional furniture designer/maker. The recipient of the scholarship will receive $1,000 towards the development and promotion of an original furniture piece which will then be on exhibit at the group’s annual Furniture Masters Main Event in the Fall. The Main Event is an opportunity to exhibit alongside established makers and interact with current and past patrons in an intimate setting. 

The emerging artist will be encouraged to create something which showcases their very best work. As part of the award the piece will be photographed by professional photographer Bill Truslow in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, and it will be included in the Furniture Masters annual design book in the “Emerging Artist” section.  

Simply knowing my design would be critiqued by the Furniture Masters’ jury was reason enough to apply.
— Grant Burger, 2016 Alden Artisan Advancement recipient

Application Eligibility

Applicants must have already graduated from trade or art school and be on a path to becoming an emerging studio maker or tradesperson or have at most 10 years in business.

Application Fee


Application Deadline

September 30, 2018

Application Materials

  • 3 photos of furniture made while a student/apprentice 
  • A current resume
  • A drawing of the proposed piece to be considered for scholarship funds 
  • A brief narrative of the inspiration for the design

Application Review

While only one applicant will be awarded the scholarship, all applicants will receive feedback on submitted materials from three current NHFMA members. 

Application Commitments

  • Applicant must commit to showcasing their completed piece at the annual NHFMA Main Event.
  • Applicant is responsible for traveling and shipping expenses to and from the Main Event.
  • Applicant is responsible for finishing their show piece for the Spring Photoshoot and using the advancement funds for their intended purpose.

Award Timeline and Jury Process

  • The scholarship recipient will be notified by October 30, 2018, and advancement funds will be awarded at that time.
  • The recipient will have until May or June to complete the piece for the photo shoot.
  • Approximately one month prior to the photo shoot, the recipient’s piece will be reviewed by the NHFMA jury and one member of the American Furniture Masters Institute (AFMI) to establish that the piece has been built to acceptable standards.
  • After the photo shoot, the recipient will have the remaining Spring and Summer to promote the piece for the Fall Main Event as they wish, which could include exhibiting at Furniture Masters events.
  • During the advancement period, a designated NHFMA member (Greg Brown) will monitor the recipient’s progress as well as encourage the recipient to reach out to other Masters for input.

Application Award

  • Recipient will receive $1,000 for the development and promotion of the submitted design
  • The recipient will receive a professional photo shoot with Bill Truslow and receive one 8 ½ x 11 print and high resolution digital files of their piece which may be used for personal use in any media outlet. Photo Credit must be given to Bill Truslow.
  • The recipient will be featured in the NHFMA Annual publication under the heading “Emerging Artist."
  • The recipient will exhibit the piece alongside the Masters at their annual Main Event in the Fall (Date TBD).
  • The recipient will be offered guidance on preparing for an exhibit, pricing work and discussing work with potential patrons.
  • The recipient is strongly advised to seek input and guidance from any current NHFMA member on the piece they have submitted for exhibition.

Main Event Sale:

If the recipient sells the piece at the Furniture Masters Main Event, the recipient will contribute 10% of the final sale to NHFMA for their successful participation. Note: all NHFMA members donate 10% of sales at the Main Event.

Application Submission:  

Applications may be mailed with $25 application fee to: American Furniture Masters Institute, P.O. Box 5733, Manchester, NH  03108, Attention: Alden Artisan Advancement.

Or e-mailed to with $25 application fee paid online. Here's the link for online submission:

Lucille by Grant Burger, 2016 Alden Advancement Award Recipient Photo by  Bill Truslow

Lucille by Grant Burger, 2016 Alden Advancement Award Recipient
Photo by Bill Truslow